This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Enabling legislation

Curtin University is a body corporate established under the Curtin University Act 1966 (WA).

Curtin University is the same body corporate that was originally called the “Western Australian Institute of Technology”, established in 1966 under the Western Australian Institute of Technology Act 1966, and renamed the “Curtin University of Technology” in 1987 under the Western Australian Institute of Technology Amendment Act 1986.

The University’s name was then further changed to “Curtin University” in 2017 under the Universities Legislation Amendment Act 2016.

Amongst other things, the Curtin University Act 1966 (WA) sets out the functions of the University, specifies that Council is its governing body and makes provision for the Student Guild.

The Corporate Governance Statement.pdf [203kB], approved by Council, describes the following:

  • Curtin University’s Framework for Instruments of Governance
  • The role of Council in Governance
  • Committees of Council (including the role of the Academic Board)
  • Council members Code of Conduct
  • The role of the Chancellor in Governance
  • The role of the Vice-Chancellor in Governance
  • The role of the Council Secretary in Governance