This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

New book explores the history of Curtin’s Centre for Aboriginal Studies

Copy Link
Image for New book explores the history of Curtin’s Centre for Aboriginal Studies

The 35-year history of Curtin University’s Centre for Aboriginal Studies has been celebrated in a new book, which was launched last night.

The book, ‘A History of Achievement’, acknowledges the people who have contributed to the success of the Centre for Aboriginal Studies since it was formally opened in 1984.

Curtin University Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic Professor Jill Downie congratulated the book’s authors for documenting an important part of the Centre’s illustrious history.

“Since its earliest days, the Centre for Aboriginal Studies has been grounded in its strong ties with the Aboriginal community and a strong core of Aboriginal academic and administrative staff continues to guide the direction of the Centre today,” Professor Downie said.

“This book explores the issues of self-determination and self-management dominating the hearts and minds of Aboriginal people at the time of the Centre’s development, laying the foundations for a Centre that continues to provide for the social, cultural and educational needs and aspirations of Aboriginal people.”

Centre for Aboriginal Studies Director Professor Marion Kickett said the success of the Centre for Aboriginal Studies explored in the new book was testament to the dedication and hard work of many people.

“A History of Achievement describes an exciting era when, under the guidance of a small group of Aboriginal people and with the support of a progressive institutional leadership, staff developed innovative services and programs that continue to make a real difference in the lives of Aboriginal people,” Professor Kickett said.

The Centre for Aboriginal Studies was formalised by Curtin’s predecessor the Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT) Council in 1984 after the development of short courses and an Aboriginal Bridging Course in the years prior.

The Aboriginal Editorial Board includes Professor Marion Kickett, Ted Wilkes, Trevor Satour, Darryl Kickett, Pat Dudgeon, Anita Lee Hong, Professor Simon Forrest, Dennis Eggington, Jill Abdullah, Glenis Grogan, Roz Walker, Jeannie Morrison and Ernie Stringer.

The book, ‘A History of Achievement’ is now available for free. If you would like to secure a copy, please contact the Centre for Aboriginal Studies via

For more information about the Centre for Aboriginal Studies, visit

Copy Link