This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Curtin astrophysicist named among nation’s leaders in her field

Copy Link
Image for Curtin astrophysicist named among nation’s leaders in her field

A Curtin astrophysicist has been recognised by the country’s professional body for astronomical research for her significant contribution to advancing a greater understanding of the Universe through research.

Dr Natasha Hurley-Walker, an ARC Future Fellow from the Curtin University node of the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research, was today awarded the Anne Green Prize by the Astronomical Society of Australia.

The Anne Green Prize recognises a significant advance or accomplishment by a mid-career scientist and honours Professor Green’s extensive contribution to astronomy following her retirement in 2017.

Curtin University Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research Professor Chris Moran congratulated Dr Hurley-Walker on being recognised among the country’s leaders in astronomy research.

“Dr Hurley-Walker led the Murchison Widefield Array team that processed the GLEAM (Galactic and Extragalactic All-sky MWA) survey, using the powerful radio telescope to create striking multi-coloured maps of the southern sky, generating a host of new scientific studies of our Universe,” Professor Moran said.

“A passionate advocate for science, outreach, sustainability and gender equity, Dr Hurley-Walker’s work in astronomy is a significant contribution to the nation’s research in the field and is helping to inspire the next generation to consider the exciting possibilities of a career in science.”

Dr Hurley-Walker said she was delighted to be acknowledged by the Astronomical Society of Australia with an award named in Professor Green’s honour.

“Professor Green is a true trailblazer in our field; she was the first female physics PhD student, and later the first female Head of the School of Physics at the University of Sydney, with a prolific career focused on the ecology and structure of the Milky Way Galaxy,” Dr Hurley-Walker said.

“It’s an absolute honour to be acknowledged with an award named in her honour and to be recognised among some of Australia’s brightest minds in the field of astronomy research.”

Dr Adelle Goodwin, who now works at the Curtin Institute of Radio Astronomy, was named the winner of the Astronomical Society of Australia’s Charlene Heisler Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis, which was completed at Monash University.

The Astronomical Society of Australia announced its annual award winners today.

For more information, visit here.

Copy Link