This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Half-century WA School of Mines alumni recognised in Kalgoorlie

Copy Link

Five WA School of Mines, Curtin University alumni will be acknowledged at a special ceremony in Kalgoorlie in recognition of their 50 year-long connection with the WA School of Mines.

Geoff Carroll, Cecil Pearson, Adrian May, Eugen Dombrose and Robert King graduated from the WA School of Mines in the 1960’s and will be honoured in a special 50 Year Graduation ceremony.

The ceremony coincides with a significant year for the University as it celebrates ‘50 Years of Innovation’ – which recognises the combined history of WAIT, which opened its doors to students in 1967 and evolved into Curtin University in 1987.

Professor Sam Spearing, Director of the WA School of Mines, Curtin University said it was an honour to recognise the five recipients at the graduation ceremony, along with current graduating students.

“All five recipients have had a significant impact in their chosen fields both nationally and internationally and it is exciting to hear and reflect on their success,” Professor Spearing said.

“It is a great opportunity for current WA School of Mines students to connect, network and learn from significant and experienced alumni who have gone on and made a career out of their time at WASM.

“We are always so passionate about our valued alumni and it is fantastic to celebrate their achievements in this special milestone year.

“The ceremony is also focused on current graduating students and we wish them the best in their future careers and look forward to reconnecting with them in the future.”

For further information on the WA School of Mines, visit:

Copy Link