This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Entrepreneur to chair National Centre for Student Equity board

Copy Link
Image for Entrepreneur to chair National Centre for Student Equity board

Academic and entrepreneur Ms Erin Watson-Lynn has been appointed chair of the National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education (NCSEHE) board, located at Curtin University.

Ms Watson-Lynn is a lecturer in entrepreneurship at Monash University, in addition to being the co-founder of DICE Kids and founder of Generate Worldwide, a start-up company that delivers work-integrated learning opportunities in India.

She also has a history of contributing to student equity for postgraduate students through positions on the Monash University Equal Opportunity for Women Committee and the Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations.

“I am delighted to be involved with the NCSEHE as it has such a vital role to play in advancing equity for all students to participate in higher education,” Ms Watson-Lynn said.

Professor Sue Trinidad, Director of NCSEHE, said Ms Watson-Lynn’s experience made her the ideal chair candidate to oversee the Centre’s strategic direction.

“The National Centre plays an important role in bringing together groups doing valuable work in this and related fields, with a focus on closing the gap between equity policy, research and practice to ensure better outcomes for all students,” Professor Trinidad said.

Formerly hosted by the University of South Australia, the NCSEHE moved to Curtin in mid-2013 and is supported by a grant funded by the Australian Government Department of Education and Training.

The research and policy centre was formerly chaired by the Honourable Fred Chaney, who relinquished his role in 2014 when we was named Senior Australian of the Year. Since then, the Centre has had an acting chair, the Honourable Dr Carmen Lawrence.

The next NCSEHE Advisory Board meeting will be held in Canberra in late November.

For more information, visit

Copy Link