This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Curtin student courtroom named after Emeritus Professor Jeanette Hacket

Copy Link

A student moot courtroom that will help train the next generation of professional lawyers has been named in honour of former Curtin University Vice-Chancellor Emeritus Professor Jeanette Hacket AM.

The Moot Court has been formally named ‘The Jeanette Hacket Moot Court’, in recognition of Professor Hacket’s significant contributions to the University, particularly for her role in the establishment of the Curtin Law School.

Curtin University Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry said the University was delighted to recognise Professor Hacket for her considerable service to the University and the wider community.

“A Perth legal practitioner before joining Curtin in 1990 and becoming Vice-Chancellor in 2006, Professor Hacket was instrumental in the establishment of the Curtin Law School, which makes her a very appropriate namesake for this important space in the Law School – the student moot courtroom,” Professor Terry said.

“‘The Jeanette Hacket Moot Court’ will provide students with practical learning experiences through simulated court proceedings, preparing them for their future careers as legal practitioners in Australia.”

As Vice-Chancellor, Professor Hacket oversaw the opening of the Curtin campus in Singapore, the creation of the Curtin Institute of Radio Astronomy and Curtin Health Innovation Research Institute, and the launch of the Murchison Widefield Array, part of the global Square Kilometre Array mega-science project.

Professor Hacket said she was honoured to be acknowledged by the University with the moot court naming.

“I am thrilled to be recognised by Curtin and look forward to seeing the next generation of legal practitioners emerging through the Curtin Law School,” Professor Hacket said.

Professor Hacket was the first female Vice-Chancellor of Curtin University and held the role from 2006 to 2013.

Over the course of her career at Curtin, she served in a number of senior positions including Pro Vice-Chancellor International and Enterprise (2002-2004), Deputy Vice-Chancellor (2004 – 2006), and Vice-Chancellor (2006 – 2013).

‘The Jeanette Hacket Moot Court’ was officially named at an event held yesterday at the Curtin Law School, located at 57 Murray Street Perth. The refurbished National Trust building also features an intensive city based undergraduate academic program; the John Curtin Law Clinic; the John Curtin Law Clinic; the Curtin Law School Tax Clinic; and an independent co-located barristers’ chambers.

Copy Link