This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Curtin researcher crowned Young Tall Poppy Scientist of the Year

Copy Link
Dr Hugo Olierook

Curtin University geoscientist Dr Hugo Olierook from the School of Earth and Planetary Sciences and the John de Laeter Centre has been crowned the Western Australian Young Tall Poppy Scientist of the Year at the 2023 WA Young Tall Poppy Science Awards, where three other Curtin researchers were also recognised.

Dr Olierook’s research is informing policymakers on ways to prevent future climate change while his techniques are assisting the mining industry in sourcing sustainable metals like copper and lithium for wind turbines and electric cars.

Through his role as deputy lead for the School of Earth and Planetary Sciences educational program GeoOutreach Dr Olierook is helping to inspire and empower the next generation of geoscientists in WA schools.

In addition to Dr Olierook’s overall win, neurotraumatologist and neuroscientist Dr Sarah Hellewell, engineer and Curtin HIVE Manager Associate Professor Andrew Woods and highly cited digital marketing researcher Associate Professor Mingming Cheng were among 10 of the State’s outstanding researchers recognised for their exceptional research and passionate commitment to communicating science.

Curtin University Vice-Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne congratulated the group on being honoured by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science.

“I am delighted to congratulate Dr Olierook on being crowned the WA Young Tall Poppy Scientist of the Year for 2023 in recognition of the significant contribution he has made in geochronology and geochemistry research,” Professor Hayne said.

“It is incredibly exciting to have four of Curtin’s brightest early career researchers recognised as leaders in their fields. The diversity among their areas of expertise highlights the depth and breadth of outstanding research happening at Curtin.”

The Young Tall Poppy Science Awards are run by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science to honour rising scientists across science, engineering and mathematics, who combine world-class research with a commitment to communicating science.

The award winners participate in education and community outreach programs, becoming role models to inspire school students and the broader community about the possibilities of science. This involves a range of science promotion activities, including visits to schools, educational seminars, workshops and public talks. For further information visit Young Tall Poppy Science Awards.

Copy Link