This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Curtin Professor wins Mental Health Nurse of the Year award

Copy Link
Image for Curtin Professor wins Mental Health Nurse of the Year award

A Professor of Mental Health at Curtin University has been named the Australian College of Mental Health Nurses (ACMHN), Mental Health Nurse of the Year.

Professor Dianne Wynaden from the School of Nursing and Midwifery won the award for being an exceptional mental health nurse, a great leader and an advocate for mental health nursing.

In addition to her role at Curtin she is a registered nurse, credentialed mental health nurse and holds research consultancy positions with Fremantle Hospital and the WA State Forensic Mental Health Service. As a professor, her role spans education, research and clinical practice.

ACMHN President, Professor Wendy Cross said she was delighted with the outcome of the award.

“Dianne is a truly worthy recipient of the award. We are privileged to have a mental health nurse of her stature and capability amongst us,” Professor Cross said.

Professor Wynaden said it was a great honour to be nominated and selected by her peers.

“It is one of the highlights of my professional career,” said Professor Wynaden.

“Mental health nurses are leaders in the delivery of quality care and it is exciting to be part of shaping the profession into the future.

“I could not have won this award without the ongoing support of my colleagues who have all contributed to my achievements throughout my career.”

The prestigious award was presented to Professor Wynaden at the International Conference on Mental Health Nursing being held in Perth this week.

Copy Link