This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Curtin Medical School names External Advisory Board

Copy Link

The Curtin Medical School External Advisory Board has been confirmed and is comprised of university academics, medical practitioners and industry advisors.

Curtin University Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry indicated she was delighted that Adjunct Professor Janice Bell had accepted the invitation to chair the Curtin Medical School External Advisory Board.

“Adjunct Professor Bell is a well-known medical practitioner and medical training expert who is very well-placed to chair the Board, which will play an integral part in the establishment of the Curtin Medical School,” Professor Terry said.

Professor William Hart, Foundation Dean of Medicine, said the Board recently had its first meeting and he was looking forward to working with such a highly esteemed group.

“I am privileged to receive the advice of such a distinguished group of medical and health professionals to shape the development of the Curtin Medical School,” Professor Hart said.

The members of the Curtin Medical School External Advisory Board are:

  • Adjunct Professor Janice Bell – Chair
  • Dr Richard Choong
  • Adjunct Associate Professor Robyn Collins
  • Dr Alan Eggleston
  • Prof Gary Geelhoed
  • Kieran Gulvin (student representative)
  • Michele Kosky
  • Prof Con Michael
  • Vicki O’Donnell
  • Dr Karen Pitman
  • Kim Snowball
  • Prof Bryant Stokes

“It is a privilege to Chair such an experienced and committed medical school advisory board whose members draw from so many facets of health care in Western Australia,” Adjunct Professor Bell said.

“I’m looking forward to the journey with the Board and the Curtin Medical School, whose shared intention is the development of capable, compassionate doctors willing and able to work where they are needed most.”

The Curtin medical degree will allow graduates to meet the needs of currently under-serviced areas of health care including primary care, chronic disease, ageing, Indigenous and regional health.

The Medical School will offer a five-year, full-time, undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery degree that will complement the postgraduate medical courses available at University of Western Australia and Notre Dame University.

The Curtin Medical School is scheduled to take in its first intake of students in 2017.

Copy Link