This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Curtin congratulates nine finalists in the 2021 Premier’s Science Awards

Copy Link
Image for Curtin congratulates nine finalists in the 2021 Premier’s Science Awards

Seven outstanding Curtin researchers and students along with two of the University’s science outreach programs have been named finalists in the 2021 Premier’s Science Awards.

The prestigious annual awards recognise Western Australia’s finest scientific research and engagement achievements and aim to raise the profile of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

John Curtin Distinguished Professor Zheng-Xiang Li, from the School of Earth and Planetary Sciences, and John Curtin Distinguished Professor Christopher Reid, from the School of Population Health, have both been named finalists in the esteemed Scientist of the Year category.

Dr Eleanor Sansom, from Curtin’s Space Science and Technology Centre, is a finalist in the Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year.

Eleanor Dunlop, from Curtin’s School of Public Health; Liam Scarlett, from the School of Electrical Engineering, Computing and Mathematical Sciences; and Katherine Landwehr, also from the School of Public Health, were recognised as finalists in the ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year.

Medicine student Daniel Curran has also been announced a finalist in the Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year category.

Curtin’s FIRST LEGO League WA, headed by Tim Keely, and Innovation Central Perth, headed by Andrew Bell, have been acknowledged as finalists in the Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year category.

Curtin University Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research Professor Chris Moran congratulated each of Curtin’s finalists on being recognised among the State’s best and brightest.

“The Premier’s Science Awards celebrate the State’s ground-breaking scientific achievements through research and engagement, so I am particularly excited that nine Curtin finalists have been recognised this year,” Professor Moran said.

“These finalists have confirmed their standing among the finest contributors to science, technology, research and engagement in Western Australia, and our student scientists are among Western Australia’s next generation of STEM pioneers.”

The winners of the 2021 Premier’s Science Awards will be announced during National Science Week from 14 to 22 August.

Last year, John Curtin Distinguished Professor Steven Tingay was named joint Scientist of the Year at the 2020 Premier’s Science Awards.

For more information about the awards and finalists, visit here.

Copy Link