This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

WASM graduates honoured

Copy Link

Curtin University of Technology’s WA School of Mines (WASM) has acknowledged the success of its outstanding graduates at the 2009 graduation ceremony.

WASM Acting Director, Professor Bert Veenendaal, said all graduates did the School of Mines proud.

“We are very proud of our graduate’s achievements,” he said.

A number of students received prizes for academic achievement, with three students being recognised for academic excellence.

William Moore was the recipient of WASM’s most prestigious awards, The WA School of Mines Graduates’ Association Gold Medal for best graduating student and the Charles Warman Medal for the highest achieving fourth year, Bachelor of Engineering student.

Professor Veenendaal said William was an outstanding student, graduating with a Bachelor of Engineering with First Class Honours and an outstanding overall course weighted average of 85.92 percent.

“This is an exceptional achievement,” Professor Veenendaal said.

Other significant achievements included Andrew Simons, who received both the KCGM Prize and the Reg. Buckett Prize for best thesis in the metallurgical engineering program, and Kieran Rich, who was awarded the Reg. Buckett award for best final year thesis in WASM Bachelor of Engineering in Mining, the Crocos, Nielson, Manners Memorial Prize and the Shaw Metals Haggie Reid Prize.

“These students and all other award winners have achieved impressive results,” Professor Veenendaal said.

A number of current students were also awarded scholarships to assist their studies.

The Prizes and Scholarship Ceremony was held at 9am on Friday, 14 May 2010 at the Hobson Theatre in Kalgoorlie.

The Graduation Ceremony was held at 5pm on Friday, 14 May 2010 at the WMC Conference Centre in Kalgoorlie.

Copy Link