This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Curtin academics nationally recognised for outstanding contribution

Copy Link


11 August 2008

Three long-standing Curtin University of Technology academics have been awarded 2008 Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning by the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ATLC) (formerly the Carrick Institute of Learning and Teaching in Higher Education).

Associate Professor Marjan Zadnik, Professor Léonie Rennie and Professor Shelley Yeo were recognised and rewarded for diverse contributions to the quality of student learning in their specific areas of responsibility over a sustained period.

Curtin Vice-Chancellor Professor Jeanette Hacket congratulated the recipients and commended their commitment to teaching and learning at Curtin.

“Over the years Professors Zadnik, Rennie and Yeo have been exemplary in their efforts to maximise the learning experience for students at Curtin,” Professor Hacket said.

“I congratulate them on this prestigious and well-deserved citation. They are true role models and assets to the University as we continually strive to deliver excellence in education, scholarship and research.”

In the ATLC citation, Associate Professor Marjan Zadnik was recognised for enhancing students’ learning of physics through innovative and research based curricula, and for scholarly activities and leadership in physics.

Professor Léonie Rennie was recognised for exemplary supervision and empowerment of research students through promoting high standards in research education for students and their supervisors.

Professor Shelley Yeo received recognition for the design, development, implementation and evaluation of Curtin’s approach to academic integrity and new plagiarism policies and procedures.

Each Curtin recipient has been widely recognised for their achievements within the University and received strong institutional endorsement as a candidate for the Citation.

The Citations were presented at an award ceremony held in Perth on 8 August 2008. Each recipient received an award of $10,000 from the ALTC.

Modified: 11 August 2008

Copy Link