This internet browser is outdated and does not support all features of this site. Please switch or upgrade to a different browser to display this site properly.

Curtin students awarded New Colombo Plan Scholarships

Copy Link

Three Curtin University students have been named New Colombo Plan Scholars for 2018, a signature initiative of the Australian Government which aims to advance knowledge of the Indo-Pacific region.

The students, Mr Matthew Biletic, 20, from the Faculty of Science and Engineering, and Mr Sean Curran, 22, and Mr Bradley New, 23, from the Faculty of Humanities, were among the 120 Scholars selected from 33 universities across Australia to study, work and live in the Indo-Pacific region as part of the New Colombo Plan Scholarship Program.

The successful recipients were announced by Minister for Foreign Affairs, the Hon Julie Bishop, and Minister for Education and Training, Senator Simon Birmingham, last night.

Curtin University Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry congratulated the students, adding the scholarship program provided an opportunity to offer work-ready Australian graduates regional experience with our Indo-Pacific neighbours.

“I am delighted for the three Curtin students who will be undertaking their studies at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore, Waseda University in Japan, and the City University of Hong Kong,” Professor Terry said.

“While abroad, the students will be undertaking studies in statistical mechanics and quantum mechanics, east Asian studies and Japanese politics, and creative arts, as well as completing internships in their chosen fields.

“This prestigious scholarship is a fantastic achievement and provides a unique opportunity for students to complete studies overseas, network with business and industry, and further develop their skills in both an individual and professional manner.”

In 2018, the New Colombo Plan will support Australian undergraduates to live, work and study in 40 locations across the Indo-Pacific, including for the first time New Caledonia and French Polynesia.

The NCP is open to Australian undergraduates aged 18 to 28 studying at Australian universities.

For further information, visit:

Copy Link